Don’t Forget The Home Railroads

img307GG

I recently realized I have been railfanning for slightly over 50 years.

For Christmas 1965 I received a Minoltina (Made by Minolta) 35 mm rangefinder to be used for a college photography class.

For about a year I shot only black and white. I took my first roll of 35 mm slide film late in 1966 with most of the slides being poor to acceptable. Still, a few came out well.

Here is Akron & Barberton Belt No. 27 (a Baldwin S12 purchased in 1951) heading toward the A&BB yard in Barberton in most-likely December 1966.

For those who know the area now, this is a completely different scene. The A&BB is now the ABC, A&BB 27 was scrapped over 40 years ago, the freight cars that can be identified are all fallen flags, the tracks have been removed, and there is no road crossing in this area now.

The cars would now be classics and Kodachrome is a fond memory.

What amazes me now is how few shots I took of the A&BB and AC&Y. These were the home railroads loaded with older rare power, but I can’t complain.

I had to learn what so many rail fans have had to learn that “far away places are fun, but don’t forget the home roads.”

Article and Photographs by Robert Farkas

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.