Getting a Rare R.J. Corman Sunday Move

An R.J. Corman train cruises southbound along Warwick Drive NW between Clinton and Canal Fulton.

An R.J. Corman train cruises southbound along Warwick Drive NW between Clinton and Canal Fulton.

Since last Sunday was the best weather from the past few days I went to Alliance to railfan. The first couple hours I had two eastbound stack trains but nothing westbound.

I found out that Norfolk Southern was doing track maintenance near Conway and no trains were being run. After noon, I went over to the Sebring model railroad club. Trains were moving here, albeit of the model variety.

After 2 p.m. NS opened the floodgates and I saw four trains in an hour. I relocated to Rootstown, catching another train.

Then I got word that an R.J. Corman train had just gone into Warwick to pick up some cars from CSX. I figured it would take 30-40 minutes to drive there so off I went.

I was just arriving as the train pulled out heading back south. Luckily, it doesn’t going very fast and made for an easy chase.

I got it several times at Canal Fulton and a couple more at Massilon. By now it was after 5 and the light was fading so I ended my chase here.

Article and Photographs by Todd Dillon 

Coming through Canal Fulton.

Coming through Canal Fulton.

A farm south of Canal Fulton.

Passing the large pond of a home south of Canal Fulton.

It must have been a slow day as the railfan chase crew was out in force. I see Bob Farkas at left near the train.

It must have been a slow day as the railfan chase crew was out in force. I see Bob Farkas at left near the train.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Getting a Rare R.J. Corman Sunday Move”

  1. Bob Says:

    Thanks for posting these. I was the first one to the spot south of Canal Fulton. When the RJ Corman train arrived, there were eight railfans there. Amazing!
    Bob

Leave a Reply

