Sunset on the NS Fort Wayne Line

ns-salem-sunset-x

ns-tracks-sunset-x

It was late on a Sunday and Marty Surdyk and I were headed for home after an afternoon railfannng the Fort Wayne Line of Norfolk Southern east of Alliance.

It has been a productive day that had netted a number of trains at the Garfield sag and the NS executive train in Salem.

I thought I was done photographing for the day, but that wasn’t the case. As we came back through Salem from Leetonia, the gates came down and an eastbound NS tanker train came along.

The sun was setting at the time and on a whim, I jumped out of the passenger seat of Marty’s Jeep and made this image.

We had to cross the Fort Wayne Line again near Garfield and I asked him to stop so I could try my hand at the sunset colors in a down-the-tracks view.

The image didn’t turn out as well as I had hoped it would because there just wasn’t a lot of color in this sunset. But it was something and it would turn out to be the last photograph that I made on this day.

Article and Photographs by Craig Sanders

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

