Begeman Renominated to STB

A Senate committee has approved by voice vote the nomination by the Obama administration of Ann Begeman to another five-year term on the U.S. Surface Transportation Board. The nomination is expected to be approved today by the full Senate.

Ann Begeman

Ann Begeman

Some Washington observers expect that Begeman will become chair of the STB after the Trump administration takes office next month.

Begeman, a Republican, had seen her term expire on Dec. 31, 2015, but she remained on at the STB as a holdover member. By law, STB members may remain for up a year past the expiration of their term.

The STB currently has two Democrats, Dan Elliott (whose term expires on Dec. 31, 2018) and Deb Miller (whose term expires on Dec. 31, 2017).

The Surface Transportation Board Reauthorization Act of 2015 created two new STB seats, which the Trump administration is expected to fill next year.


Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: