It’s a Coal Train!

CSX was in the midst of a flurry of traffic. Between 7 and 8 p.m. it put five trains through Berea, including something I haven’t seen in a long time.

I was looking through my telephoto lens at this approaching eastbound, the last of the five trains that also included two westbound stack trains, a westbound auto rack train and an eastbound manifest train when I noticed that this was a coal train.

The decline of coal traffic at CSX and Norfolk Southern has been well documented by various sources and in recent years coal trains seem to have become scarce in Northeast Ohio.

I’ve seen a few coal trains on NS, but I can’t remember the last time I saw a coal train on CSX. And this wasn’t a Powder River Basin coal train, but something that likely came up from West Virginia.

Maybe coal trains are not extinct on CSX through Cleveland and I just haven’t been trackside when they came through.

I have no idea as to the destination of this coal, but there must be a power plant somewhere east of here that still burns the black diamonds.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

