Reflections of CSX

Sometimes an idea for a doing something different with your camera just comes to you.

That was how I came to make the image shown at the top of this posting.

I was standing next to the fence waiting for a CSX work train to arrive in Marion on the Columbus Subdivision.

It would be something different as I don’t recall ever photographing a weed sprayer train.

I just happened to turn around toward the station and saw a reflection of the approaching train in a window. Now that’s different.

I made three images of the train before turning back to face it for a more traditional head-on image. The one  you see is the middle one.

Because the train was reflected in the window, everything is backward. I could have easily fixed that in Photoshop, but the resulting image would not have reflected (pun not intended) what I actually saw.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

