Posts Tagged ‘ALSRRA safety awards’

2 Pa. Short Lines Get Safety Awards

August 29, 2020

Two Pennsylvania short line railroads have received President’s Safety Awards from the American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association.

Honored in the eastern region were the Buffalo & Pittsburgh,  and the York Railway Company.

The awards recognize railroads that achieved the lowest accident frequency rate based on 2019 Federal Railroad Administration data that is categorized based on the number of injury-free man hours worked.

Winners of the award will be recognized during the ASLRRA’s virtual Connections convention to be held Oct. 5-9.

ASLRR Names Safety Award Winners

May 1, 2020

Four railroads serving Indiana and Pennsylvania are among 17 winners of the 2019 Jake Award by the American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association.

They are the Buffalo & Pittsburgh Railroad, Chicago South Shore & South Bend Railroad Company, Evansville Western Railway, and Indiana Rail Road.

To win a Jake Award, an ASLRRA member railroad must perform better than the Class II and III industry average for injury frequency rate, as reported by the Federal Railroad Administration during a calendar year.

Another 278 railroads won a Jake Award with Distinction, which recognizes reportable injury-free performance in 2019.

The ASLRRA said the incident rate for its members fell year over year by 12 percent, while the overall Class II and III industry rate fell by 8 percent.

The awards are named for Lowell “Jake” Jacobson, Copper Basin Railway’s president and chief operating officer who established the honor in 1993 to recognize the safety accomplishments of Class II and III railroads. The ASLRRA’s safety committee adopted the Jake Awards program in 1999.

Corman Kentucky Line Receives Safety Award

November 15, 2019

A Kentucky short line railroad has received a President’s Award from the American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association in recognition of its safety record.

R.J. Corman received the award at the annual Southern Region meeting Nov. 11-13 in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Corman’s Central Kentucky Lines was recognized for most hours of injury-free operation and best safety rate, 50,000 to 150,000 man-hours.

Also recognized was the Florida East Coast Railway, the Corman Memphis Line and the Alabama Warrior Railway.

In a statement ASLRRA President Chuck Baker said recipients of the award are considered to be industry leaders that strive to value safety above all competing priorities each day.

South Shore Wins Safety Award

October 18, 2018

The American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association has awarded its 2017 President’s Award for safety achievements to the Chicago South Shore & South Bend Railroad.

The award was presented earlier this month at an ASLRRA regional meeting. It is given Each year to a short line or regional railroad that posts the best safety rate as reported by the Federal Railroad Administration.

The South Shore was honored in the category for railroads with a maximum of 150,000 man-hours.

“We work hard to ensure that our employees go home safe, as well as provide safe service for our customers and the communities we work in and travel through,” said President Todd Bjornstad in a statement.

To qualify for the President’s Award, a railroad also must have earned ASLRRA’s Jake Award for achieving a better-than-industry average safety performance during the prior year.

The South Shore, which is a subsidiary of Anocostia Rail Holdings, earned a Jake With Distinction Award for operating without a personal injury in 2017.

L&I Employee Honored by ASLRRA

April 11, 2018

An Indiana short line railroad executive was named the safety person of the year by the American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association for his making career commitments to “safety compliance and culture.”

Jeremy Kramer of the Louisville & Indiana Railroad was honored during ASLRRA’s 2018 Connections Convention in Nashville, Tennessee.

As L&I’s director of transportation, Kramer was recognized for demonstrating a “consistent and passionate dedication to safety” during his 15-year railroad career.

“Throughout, he has worked injury-free supporting the development of a robust safety culture and strong safety performance among employees, communities, first responders and schools along the 106-mile rail line,” ASLRRA said in a news release.

Kramer also has volunteered with Operation Lifesaver and worked with area first responders on such programs as Trauma Camp, a training event for area first responders in a mock train versus vehicle incident; the Hazmat Safety Train, which provides classroom education and hands-on training to enhance their effectiveness in response to potential rail-car accidents and chemical releases; and Officer on a Train, an effort to prevent grade-crossing and trespasser incidents.

ASLRRA said that Kramer also has “raised the safety culture bar” with L&I contractors.

The Safety Person of the Year Award recognizes an employee of an ASLRRA member railroad who is not a career safety professional, has no reportable personal injuries, works with his or her company to make safety programs effective, exhibits a high degree of safety awareness and contributes off-duty time to activities promoting safety awareness and initiatives in the community.

Ohio Central Receives Safety Recognition

March 27, 2015

The Ohio Central was among several short line and regional railroads recognized for its safety practices in 2014 by the American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association.

The Coschocton-based regional received a President’s Awards for maintaining the best safety rate in the category of 50,000 to 150,000 man-hours worked.

Other railroads receiving the award and their category included: Union Railroad (500,000 or more man-hours worked), Portland & Western (250,000 to 500,000 man-hours worked),  Fort Worth & Western (150,000 to 250,000 man-hours worked) and Florida Central Railroad (less than 50,000 man-hours worked).

In a news release, ASLRRA said 274 railroad members earned 2014 Jake Awards with Distinction for reaching the goal of achieving a 0.00 Frequency/Severity Index (FSI) for the year.

Forty additional railroads received 2014 Jake Awards for having an injury rate lower than the industry average FSI of 2.68.