Posts Tagged ‘awards’

INRD Honored by Railway Age

March 12, 2018

Railway Age magazine has awarded the Indiana Rail Road its 2018 Regional Railroad of the Year award.

Editor-in-Chief William C. Vantuono said the railroad was chosen due to its success at expanding its non-coal traffic base through an aggressive growth and diversification strategy.

INRD was created in 1986 go take over a former Illinois Central branch line whose primary commodity was coal used by the Harding Street generating plant of Indianapolis Power & Light.

The power plant has since been transformed into using natural gas, thus causing a major loss of traffic for INRD.

Another setback came when a Duke Energy power plant in Terre Haute, Indiana, and a plant that produced synthetic gas from coal both closed.

INRD has compensated for the loss of coal traffic by expanding other sources of business, including creating an alliance with Canadian National to move intermodal traffic.

The railroad also opened a warehouse and cross-dock with Indianapolis-based Venture Logistics and rail-to-truck transload facilities in Indianapolis, southwest Indiana and Illinois.

It is second time that INRD has received a regional railroad of year award from Railway Age, the first having come in 2012.


Cleveland RTA Official Gets National Honor

March 20, 2017

A Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority official has been named the winner of the 2017 Women Who Move the Nation Award.

Loretta Kirk

Loretta Kirk received the honor from the Conference of Minority Transportation Officials.

Kirk is a 37-year COMTO member who was a member of its national board of directors for 16 years and was chair between 2006-2010. She has held numerous COMTO posts at the national and local levels.

“RTA is proud to congratulate Loretta for her dedication to managing the financial resources of our organization,” said CEO and General Manager Joe Calabrese in a statement. “She also works diligently to advance the concerns for Small Businesses and Disadvantaged Business Enterprises and oversees critical functions of our organization that help move us forward. She is a worthy recipient of this award.”